Simon Oakley ©Simon Oakley 2023

Home About me 'Latest News' Services Links

The only really bad decisions…are the ones you don’t take…

A full biography? Far too much has gone on, so here’s the abbreviated version...

I was born on 31st January, 1962, in Loveday Street Maternity Hospital, Birmingham (no longer in existence). My father was a local GP in Sedgley, West Midlands and I lived there (High Park Crescent) for a couple of years or so. My sister, Sally (now Sally England-Kerr) was born on 19th January, 1963.

After Sedgley, the family moved to Gospel End Village, South Staffordshire, where I stayed until I left home to work at WRc in 1985. My sister moved out a couple of years later and then my parents retired and moved to North Wales where they’ve been ever since. I lived in Marlow, Bucks, when I worked for WRc. When I got married I moved back to Wolverhampton and started work in the pharmaceutical industry. I got divorced in 1993 and lived with my sister for 12 months until I bought a home with partner Jannine in 1994.

Schooling consisted of the Royal Wolverhampton, followed by Mander, Portman and Woodward in Birmingham and then the University of Birmingham from 1981-1985, where I did a Bsc in Biochemistry and an Msc in Toxicology. Latterly I’ve become a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology (FRSB), Chartered Biologist (CBiol), Chartered Scientist (Csci) and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Public Health (FRSPH). I also (2019) have a Certificate in Medicines Development from King’s College, London.

I’ve worked for the Water Research Centre (WRc), Servier Laboratories, Eli Lilly, Sanofi Pasteur and now Valneva.

My interests include the Wyre Forest, boats, dogs, walking and the outdoors, local history, exercising when I get the chance and real cider. In no particular order.